1. Collection
Registered Number 1060
Acronym NAIMCC
Full Name National Agriculturally Important Microbial Culture Collection
Institution ICAR-National Bureau of Agriculturally Important Microorganisms
Institution Photo
ISO Standard ISO 9001:2008
2. Correspondent
Correspondent
Dr. Harsh Vardhan Singh
Postal Address Director (Acting), ICAR-National Bureau of Agriculturally Important Microorganisms, Kushmaur,Mau,Uttar Pradesh,275101
Country India
Telephone 1 (91) - 547 2970726
Telephone 2 (91) - 547 2970727
E-mail 1 director.nbaim@icar.gov.in
E-mail 2 nbaimicar@gmail.com
Homepage https://nbaim.icar.gov.in/naimcc/ 
3. Status of the collection
Status Governmental
4. Sponsors and budget
Sponsor Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), Department of Agriculture Research and Education (DARE); Ministry of Agriculture and Farmer's Welfare, Government of India
5. Personnel
Director
Dr. Harsh Vardhan Singh
E-Mail:director.nbaim@icar.gov.in
Curator Dr. Harsh Vardhan Singh (Director (Acting), Fungi)
E-mail:Harsh.Singh@icar.gov.in
Dr. Pawan Kumar Sharma (In-charge, NAIMCC & Fungi)
E-mail:pawan.sharma@icar.gov.in
Dr. Alok Kumar Srivastava (Fungi)
E-mail:Alok.Srivastava@icar.gov.in
Dr. Udai Bhan Singh (Fungi)
E-mail:Udai.Singh1@icar.gov.in
Dr. V. Mageshwaran (Bacteria)
E-mail:Mageshwaran.V@icar.gov.in
Dr. Hillol Chakdar (Bacteria)
E-mail:Hillol.Chakdar@icar.gov.in
Dr. Kumar M.  (Bacteria)
E-mail:Kumar.M@icar.gov.in
Dr. Pramod Kumar Sahu (Bacteria)
E-mail:Pramod.Sahu@icar.gov.in
Dr. Abhijeet Shankar Kashyap (Fungi)
E-mail:Abhijeet.kashyap@icar.gov.in
Dr. Nazia Manzar (Fungi)
E-mail:nazia.manzar@icar.gov.in
Dr. Surinder Paul (Bacteria)
E-mail:surinder.paul@icar.gov.in
Dr. Shobit Thapa (Cyanobacteria)
E-mail:shobit.thapa@icar.gov.in
Number of Staff Bacteriology (5)
Mycology (6)
Algology (1)
Assistants (5)
Supporting Staff (1)
Total (18)
6. Main Subjects
Subjects Agriculture
Applied microbiology
Culture and preservation methods
Freeze drying
General microbiology
Molecular biology
Plant pathology
Systematics and taxonomy
Agricultural microbiology
Environmental microbiology
Biotechnology
7. Preservation
Method and category of cultures Freeze-dry(Bacteria & Fungi)
Liquid N2(Bacteria & Fungi)
Subculturing(Bacteria & Fungi)
Glycerol stock(Bacteria & Fungi)
Mineral oil stock(Fungi)
Live culturing(Cyanobacteria)
Control of the culture Viability
Purity
Growth
Biochemical characterization
Molecular characaterization
Deposit to your collection
to other collections in your country
Source(s) of strains for people in this country: isolated by or introduced from Isolation by ourselves
Personally from the scientists in our country
From the collections in our country
From the research institutions in our country
the collection abroadATCC(USA)
the collection abroadCABI(UK)
Number of Strains until now Type Holding strains
(total number)/(number from your country)
new species
(total number)/(number from your country)
Bacteria 3049 3049 41 41
Fungi 4179 4179 5 5
Yeasts 63 63
Cyanobacteria 356 356 2 2
Number of strains last year Type Holding strains
(total number)/(number from your country)
new species
(total number)/(number from your country)
Microbes distributed
(total number)/(in your country)
Bacteria 2723 2723 22 22 119 119
Fungi 4130 4130 9 9 20 20
Yeasts 63 63
Cyanobacteria 347 347 1 1 2 2
8. Availability of Cultures
Availability free to Scientists of ICAR-NBAIM, Mau
exchange with other microbial culture collections viz. VTCC, DMR, MTCC, NCMR, ITCC, ISBD and others
fee for researchers of public sectors: 1600 INR
fee for researchers of private sectors: 10000 INR
9. Catalogue
Catalogue Published the first catalogue in 2009 year(s)
Plan to publish the New edition edition in 2022
Catalogue Computerized http://mgrportal.org.in/database.php
10. Services
Services Storage service(Microbial cultures)
Distribution
Identification
Training Management of a culture collection
Culture and preservation methods
Systematics
Identification
Biological control
Microbial diversity analysis
Metagenomics
Bioinformatics
Intellectual property rights
Consulation about Preservation
Nagoya Protocol (Access benefit sharing regulation)
Biosafety & biosecurity
Identification
Isolation and charcaterization
Other Service Designated national repository for deposit of agriculturally important microbial genetic resources
Deposit of culture under Budapest Treaty for patent process
Deposit of culture under 'General deposit' (open) and 'Safe deposit'
Microbial germplasm registration
Surface characterization of microbes using SEM and other microscopic tools
11. Entry and Update Dates
Date of Entry 2014-03-17
Date of Reply 2022-05-07